Home     About Us     Search     Contact Us 

  Indian Cuisine & Culture Made Easy in the United States

 Loading Page....definitely worth the wait !

Indian Money

What is the Indian currency called?
The Indian currency is called the Indian Rupee (INR) and the coins are called paise. One Rupee consists of 100 paise. The word Rupee came from the Sanskrit word "raupya" which means silver coin. 

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) is the body that is in charge of India's numismatics and currency production and is India's National Bank.     

All pictures and info on Indian currency courtesy RBI. Please visit their website for more detailed info.

Go to Role of RBI in India

On the bottom of this page you will find a Currency Convertor. Use it to find out what your money is worth in another country. 

  Go to Currency Converter.

Coins in India are available in denominations of 10 paise, 20 paise, 25 paise, 50 paise, one rupee, two rupees and five rupees. Coins up to 50 paise are called 'small coins' and coins of Rupee one and above are called 'Rupee Coins'.

Indian Coins : Paise 

10 paise25 Paise50 Paise

1 Rupee coin2 Rupee coin5 Rupee coin


Indian bank notes :Rupees

The present denominations of bank notes in India are issued in the denomination of Rs.10, Rs.20, Rs.50, Rs.100 and Rs.500. These notes are called bank notes as they are issued by the Reserve Bank of India (Reserve Bank). The printing of the 1, 2 & 5 denominations has been discontinued as these denominations have been coinised. However, such notes issued earlier are still in circulation.

One Rupee

Two Rupees

5 Rupees

10 Rupees

20 Rupees

50 Rupees

100 Rupees

500 Rupees

1000 Rupees

The Reserve Bank can also issue notes in the denominations of one thousand rupees, five thousand rupees and ten thousand rupees, or any other denomination that the Central Government may specify. There cannot, though, be notes in denominations higher than ten thousand rupees in terms of the current provisions of the Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934. Coins can be issued up to the denomination of Rs.1000.

The Reserve Bank manages currency in India, by deciding on the various denominations, designing of bank notes, including the security features. The Reserve Bank also estimates the quantity of notes that are likely to be needed.  Notes fit for circulation are reissued and the others (soiled and mutilated) are destroyed so as to maintain the quality of notes in circulation. The Reserve Bank derives its role in currency management on the basis of the Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934.

  1. Indian Flag   

  2. JANA GANA MANA - Indian National Anthem  

  3. VANDE MATARAM -Indian Ntional Song

  4. LOTUS - Indian National Flower   

  5. TIGER - Indian National Animal   

  6. PEACOCK - Indian National Bird

  7. LION OF SARNATH - IndianNational Emblem   

  8. HINDI - Indian National Language  

  9. RUPEE & PAISE - Indian National Currency


This amount

enter any amount
of this type of currency

scroll down to see more currencies
into this type of currency.

scroll down to see more currencies
By using this service, you agree to be bound by the terms of use agreement.

Courtesy of  The Universal Currency Converter Services

After performing the conversion, use your BACK button to come back to this page.


Guest Book      Contact Us


Advertising Info    Disclaimer    Viewing Tips

Click   if you would like to save this page in your favorites folder for later.

Copyrightę CuisineCuisine.com All rights reserved